Holiday Snaps

The title is a warning but as we went to the Lake district there will be no scantily clad bodies! I have also saved your boredom by making a couple of collages, yes again. We stayed in a converted barn just south of Kendal, this is the view from the window opposite the sofa and I wasn’t avoiding anything other than a telegraph pole. Behind the barn was a different matter, the West Coast Main Railway Line with the trains from London to Glasgow among others and he said it wasn’t intentional.

Still it was very peaceful, honest.

 

A selection of pictures from Holker Hall, well worth a visit. Hill Top, Beatrix Potters home. Levens Hall. WastWater, the prettiest and quietest valley in the Lake district, in our opinion.

Of course we had the monkee along with us.

We sneaked a visit to the Cartmel Village shop in, home of the Sticky Toffee Pudding.

Finally after spending a week in the Lakes and not taking advantage of all the  walking opportunities, very big hills for us non walkers, we returned to York and had a day out to climb Roseberry Topping. Fabulous views of the North York Moors, the North Sea and Industrial Teeside! It was worth it although I thought Death (comes from reading The Book Thief I think) was near a few times. I am so proud of managing to crawl up there that against my usual rules I have sneaked in a picture of me, I really was that red. Must attempt to get fit.

3 responses to “Holiday Snaps

  1. You’ve wet my appetite for my jaunt to the Lakes in July!

  2. Me too what gorgeous photographs of such a lovely place, 🙂

  3. We spent part of our honeymoon in the Lake District, but quite apart from that it’s a wonderful place. Lovely to see your pictures.

Leave a Reply

