Ariel

Lets take it from the top, can you tell I’ve written this listening to Elaine Paige on Sunday!

mermaid-006

A little ruffle.

The Heel, garter short row, a new favourite. So easy, believe me.

mermaid-004

Finally the toe.

This gives the game away, the yarn was dyed to stripe but I like to be different and am very pleased with the results.

A pattern to revisit.

mermaid-005

The boring detail.

Pattern: Mermaid by Lucy Neatby from this book which I have had some time and always been scared to use.

Yarn: Yarn Yard Bonny, Sock Club September 2008 (I think)

I did swatch, which is unknown but Lucy said it was necessary.

Cast on 84 stitches on 2.5mm needles then did the heel on 2.25mm.

This is a deceptively easy knit and I’ll be doing a few more as I think it shows off the yarn well.

Now back to the current project, not one you’ve seen.

 Socktopus Sock Club Jan 2009, should be finished by the time you read this unless what you see in the header distracts me again.

Need a wheel for speed……..nooooooooooooooooo!

mermaid-001

7 responses to “Ariel

  1. Yesssssssssssssss…..a wheel! Join the dark side ;-D

    Really beautiful socks and I am ‘so’ impressed by that heel – so neat, so pretty, you must tell/show me how it’s done next time our paths cross.

    Hope all is good with you
    xx

  2. Ooooh, those are gorgeous. Lucy taught us garter stitch heels and toes at the socktopus weekend – they rock! I love love love the socks – they work so well with that yarn. The toes are the best bit though – fantastic!

  3. that looks fabulous! what a gorgeous pattern and what a wonderful colour.

  4. I’ve always procrastinated over that book, I know its for sale locally, and maybe one day I’ll buy it, love the socks, wish I was a proper sock knitter like wot you are!

  5. I enjoy doing those heels too – the sock is a perfect showcase for that yarn – well chosen!

  6. I’m glad to read that someone ELSE is sometimes scared to try books! Sock looks great! I’m currently trying to come up with the courage to try something from EZ’s Knitting Without Tears.

  7. I love this sock! Might have to get that book. No, no, no. I have more than enough to keep me busy. Do you do anything else except knit socks? I cannot understand how you do them so quickly. Have you got an extra pair of hands?

Leave a Reply

