Sheddites on Tour

I’m sure the title is pretty meaningless to most, sorry. Sheddites are a group of people brought together on Ravelry by an addiction affection for the The Yarn Yard. Last year we had a meet up in York at The Bar Convent, a fairly small gathering. People stayed Friday to Monday or less. I visited on the Saturday and spent the day talking, knitting, watching knitting (generally in amazement at the piece being worked on). A good weekend was had by all.

So on to this years gathering, this was on a much grander scale, we needed a conference room and even that was full. On this weekend you only have to walk in to the place to spot a knitter, not hidden in a corner either. I spent Friday lunchtime admiring some spectacular knits. Hypernova being one of them, please please tell me I do not need to knit one of these. After all it is much larger than a sock and it is lace, not a winning combination where I am concerned.

Saturday lunch saw me admiring yet more knits, more people. That Hypernova  was still there! Then we decamped to the Conference room and proceeded to talk, knit, eat cake, drink , gift, shop and swap. Perfect.

This is my swap gift, it was a mug swap in case you were wondering. One, including its contents, to the value of £10-£12..

Lots of goodies including, notebooks, scissors, tape measure, box with stitchmarkers in and some tiny post it style page markers (you know what I mean).

Then we had a chance to study Natalie’s travelling shop. I may have indulged, thanks to my personal shopper snaffling the goodies for me. It was slightly crowded round the table.

The 2 front skeins are Clan and the colour is York Stone, how could I not have them?

Finally the P/hop swap, I have never seen so much yarn there were also needles, fibre, spindles, books and magazines. I suppose it helped that there were 50 of us. There was not a huge amount left when I departed at 5. What did I get.

Knit Picks Simple Stripes, Indie Dyer Merino 4 ply and the russet colour is what we guessed to be Dream in Colour Smooshy.

A fabulous weekend, lovely lovely people and (unfortunately) lots of ideas.

Leave a Reply

